Winterizing The Trek by studding the tires

This year I’ve planned to ride my bicycle all winter. My new job however is in a part of town that may stop me. It’s partially the distance but also a few really big hills between us and it just scares me. I’m sure I’ll try but before I can ride anywhere I need to make sure I’m not going to kill myself by riding on ice. I’ve looked up a few tutorials on how to winterize my bike, the main thing I have found is studding the tires. However I have also heard that it is a good idea to decrease the mechanical components of the bike. This tutorial focuses on studding tires, I’d like to do one on removing the derailer but I can’t on my bike. Before we begin what did I use:

Tools Materials
Drill Bicycle Tires
Drill bits Screws 50-100 Per Tire
Philips Head Screw Driver Tire Liner
Dog Toy Time
Something To Cut With


Skip to Procedure


Tire — It is best to use the widest tires you can get. Narrow road tires, with no tread and little traction are great for summer riding with lots of speed but in the winter you’ll want as much traction as possible so fat tires with large tread are best. I went with what I had, or what I could get free. I got my tires from Key City Bike which is a shop in town that provides tools and parts for people to fix their bike. The also will give or sell entire bikes to people. They are run off donations. It’s where I got my Schwinn.


Screws — I used 80 1/2 inch #8 self tapping sheet metal screws per tire. Get the ones with the biggest heads you can find without sharp edges. I had to ask a clerk and go to two stores before I found what I was looking for. I got them at home depot and after tax I paid $6.41 for 260 screws.


Liner –A tire liner to protect the tube from the screws in the tire. I used old road bike tires, but a few friends used duct tape either will work but I didn’t have tape but had two unusable tires in my shed. An old tube may work well too.


Time — a few friends said they were able to do two tires in an hour. It depends on how many screws are used per tire, they said they used a total of a hundred, and I used 80 per tire. It took me about forty to forty-five per tire.


Drill w/drill bits –Bit should be the same size as screws because little rubber will actually be removed from the tire


Phillips Head Screw Driver — to drive the screws through the rubber of the tires.


Something to cut with — this will depend on what you’re using for your liner. Because I used an old tire I used a wire cutter (or a side cutter) a shears may have worked well but I went with what I had easy access to. If you’re using duct tape scissors or a knife will work well. If you’re using an old tube a sharp knife or shears will probably have to be used.

Puppy toy — trying to work on something on the floor with a puppy is impossible unless you got a way to keep them busy, we played fetch for about ten minutes then she laid down next to me and chewed on her toy for the rest of the time.

Skip to Procedure

The tools I used to complete the project minus the cutter.

The cutter and drill bit (3/32) I used

My Rear Tire

My Front Tire, you can also see another shot of the rear tire along with both of the road bike tires used for the liner.

Here are the screw that I used 6.41 after tax at Home Depot.

I have put the tube inside the old road bike tire to protect the tube from the screws.

I have inserted the liner with tube inside my rear tire, you can see the screws and the reason the old tire was not usable.

Procedure:
1. Look at the tire to figure out what pattern to use. I used a lot more screws per tire than the friend that told me about this. I wanted to stud the tire on the outside, to make the bike more stable and it will allow for leaning, not that I’m going to be doing any racing.

2. Drill from the outside of the tire in through the thickest part of the tread and don’t do more than a few patterns at a time to ensure that one is not missed.

3. Screw in the screws using the driver. I feel silly saying that or elaborating on it but… My rear tire was much easier to work with than the front, because the tire was wider and much more pliable.

4. Line the tire from the tube to protect it from the screws.

a. Duct Tape- If your using duct tape layer it.  You’ll want it to be separate and able to move inside the tire putting sticky side to sticky side will ensure that the tape doesn’t stick to either the tube or the tire.

b. Old Tire- If your using an old tire you’ll need to cut it to make it fit inside the other tire. use the side cutters to cut the tube in one spot then insert it into the outer tube. when you get it into the other tire you can see how much to cut off. though I’m not sure removing the over lap is necessary.

c. Old Tube– this will depend on what size tube you are using, if it is the same size as what is currently on the bike, say 26″ tube and 26″ tire just cut the center out of it, make sure you remove the old stem. If the tube is larger than your current tire , say 27″ tube and 26″ tire, you’ll need to cut it in half and overlap it a few inches maybe use some duct tape to hold it together.

5. Once you got the new tire lined you can go ahead and put the new tube and wheel in the tire and then install it on the bike.

6. Jump on the bike and go for a ride. Take it slow, if there is ice on the ground even though the tires are studded you will still wipe out a lot easier. Have fun and don’t kill yourself.

The finished Products

This is the finished front tire, looks dangerous don't get in my way.

The finished rear tire also looks dangerous.

The installed front tire

The Installed Rear Tire

The winterized Trek doesn't look much different than the regular Trek

I just thought this is a cool pic.


Total cost of this project was $6.41 a little over 2 hours plus the time it took to find the screws. When considering prestudded tires are over $40.00 a piece I think it was a pretty good deal.

My Puppy:

Renesmae sleeping in her corner behind the papasan. Looks like she opened her eyes for you.

2 thoughts on “Winterizing The Trek by studding the tires

  1. Love your blog, CJ. I didn’t know that you were transgendered. Now I do.

    I will keep up with this blog. Mine is more homosexual-themed. I’m not transgendered, but I do enjoy sodomy. Even so, I think we’re part of the same community. Trust me, I don’t think you’re sick. I don’t care at all what the APA says. Remember the APA doesn’t know anything–they used to think that my sexual attractions were a mental disorder.

Leave a Reply

